Vanity Fair is featuring The Hunger Games cast photos and interview in their December 2011 issue!

Check out what Vanity Fair had to say:

While the odds may not be in favor of these actors in the arena, they certainly were in the casting room. In what was one of the most-watched casting calls for young actors since Twilight, auditions for The Hunger Games were a battle royale in their own right. Anxious to make the cut, hopefuls went all out: they covered their faces with dirt, put twigs in their hair, and wielded various weapons (including a Nerf crossbow and plastic butcher knife). It was all for the chance to play the “tributes” who fight each other to the death in contests broadcast throughout Panem (the futuristic ruins of North America) in the film adaptation of Suzanne Collins’s wildly popular young-adult novels. Ultimately, director Gary Ross took a liking to a fresh-faced cast that includes stars Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, and Liam Hemsworth, and a host of new breakout actors. Scroll your mouse over their faces to get the basics on the soon-to-be household names, and read about how they got their highly coveted roles.

And these are what Gary Ross, Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth had to say to Vanity Fair:

Gary Ross (Director): “My kids turned me on to it, and I went nuts. You rarely get a tentpole that has this much emotional depth, this much character to dive into.”

Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss): “I auditioned, which was a long process and a lot of improv. And then waited a month or something, where I was convinced I didn’t have it—then I got the phone call while I was in London. I was then terrified. I knew it was going to be huge, and that’s scary. I called my mom. She said, ‘This is a script that you love, and you’re thinking about not doing it because of the size of it?’ And I [didn’t] want to not do something because I’m scared, so I said yes. And I’m so happy that I did.”

“Katniss is an incredible character: she’s a hunter but not a killer, a 16-year-old who’s being forced into the arena,” says Lawrence. “These kids are killing one another only because if they don’t they’ll die. It’s heartbreaking.”

Josh Hutcherson (Peeta):  “I got to meet [Hunger Games author] Suzanne Collins at the first meeting, which was very exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time. But I had a great read-through, and then came back to do a test screening a few weeks later. I also hit it off with Jen—the chemistry between the two of us really worked. A couple of weeks went by where I couldn’t say a single word about it … then I got the call. It still didn’t even hit me, until I walked on set for the first day.”

“I literally read all three books over the course of five days,” he says. “My mind was blown by how much I felt I was like Peeta. We shot in the forest near Asheville, North Carolina—a lot of fight scenes, very physically demanding. Jennifer and I totally hit it off. We’re both crazy people—we don’t hold anything back.”

Liam Hemsworth (Gale): “I’d heard about how popular the books were, but I wasn’t quite aware of how dark and gritty the story was. It started me thinking and asking questions like, Could something like this actually happen to us one day? When you think about the fast-growing popularity of reality TV today, and the crazy premise of many of the reality-TV shows that are currently on the air, is it really that far off for us to consider something like this being possible? I think it’s a mind-blowing thing to think about.”

This is the picture of whole Tributes! AWESOME!

About Komunitas Indo Hunger Games

The Hunger Games Indonesia, known as Indo Hunger Games, since September 8, 2011.

One response »

  1. Alyssa says:

    Wow tht movie was incredible and i truly loved it!!!

Leave a Reply

